Debunking 3 Popular Excuses People Use To Not Travel

Being a traveler is hard.. for me at least. I am a 19 year old college girl with responsibilities that tie me down to the institution that I live, work and exist at. There is a plethora of excuses that we all use to get out of traveling and I am going to debunk them all.

  1. “I am too broke!”

Traveling does not have to mean you are jet setting to another country for a week! Search around in your own back yard and find the gems that are close enough to be travel savvy but far enough to be some place new. Your cheapest and best means of travel: bus. I highly recommend Wanderu for all of your bus needs! You give them a city to city destination guide and they’ll show you companies, times and prices. You’re gonna have to do some digging to find the right price but to get from NYC to Philadelphia for $5 _ Yes, FIVE BUCKS at mid-morning. That is unbeatable. If you do your research you can find a perfect little vacation that will take you out of your usual routine!

old-city
Mural in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

 

  1. “What if I get lost and don’t know what I’m doing?”

rarely ever know what I’m doing- ever but you fake it until you make it (to your desired destination). Getting lost is half the fun so don’t be afraid of those moments where you don’t know where you are just soak up that you’re in a new environment. That is of course that you’re not in a shady area at night then your safety is concerned but you can make that call! Plus, Rome2Rio is similar to google maps where it gives you a map of where you are trying to go but it gives you any and every possible way to get to your destination. You could put “New York City, New York to 243 London Avenue, London” and they will give you a step by step with a plane ride and everything. Definitely a useful app and one that I use all throughout my trips!

  1. “I’m a girl and I’m afraid!”

Grab a pal; I have to give a shout out to my amazing friend, Autumn, for dealing with my obsession for traveling and flying with me to New Orleans, Louisiana and very soon California! Nothing creates bonds and memories more than 4-6 days of nonstop interactions. You get snippy, you get delirious and best of all you have all of these memories to share. Yes, you’re banking on other people having money, time or drive to go but if your friends fail you can always ask your family. Worst comes to worst: travel alone. Can’t give you any advice about that.. yet!

nola-autumn
Autumn and I in front of the Louis Armstrong statue in Louis Armstrong Park, New Orleans.

Happy hunting,

Andrea

One thought on “Debunking 3 Popular Excuses People Use To Not Travel

Leave a Reply

